top of page

The Wounded Knees are Jimi Shields (Rollerskate Skinny, Martina Topley-Bird), Suzanne Thorpe (Mercury Rev), Phil Williams (Evil Twins) and Mikey Lovechilde (New Canyons). These pirate-punks were united in 2004 by dissatisfaction as their latch-key-child government embezzled its' own conscience and crossed-their-hearts-hoped-to-die lied about everything. Confusion turned to sound and, like lightning cracking an old oak tree, the anthems of All Rise were born. The Wounded Knees are sometimes joined live by J Mascis. J plays atomic guitar on the track, Dirty Exploding Sonic Dogfight simply known as "Dirty", on the All Rise EP. All Rise has been released by Specific Recordings on 10" vinyl format. Specific Recordings specializes in audio recordings that are unique as a result of historical circumstance or other unusual factors. The recordings capture singular moments, and are accompanied by artwork representing those moments, all of which is presented to the highest quality. The cover of All Rise was designed and screen-printed by stencil artist Josh MacPhee of Just Seeds. All Rise was recorded by Jason Martin, produced by the band, mixed by Kevin Shields and mastered by Bill Racine. Visuals for the sessions were provided by Rich Pell. ​​


All Rise - The Wounded Knees
00:00 / 00:00
bottom of page